All news

Deutscher Camping-Club e. V. (DCC)

Date: 12/06/2015
Source: FICC

Founded as an association in 1948 in post-war Germany with the aim of making outdoor leisure activities available to everyone, DCC celebrated its 60th anniversary in 2008.
The Club now has around 30 affiliated federations and DCC members are given every opportunity to be actively involved in their local clubs and federations. The club was started up on 22 September 1948 and the inaugural assembly was held in Pschorrbräu-Gaststätten in Munich. This was only made possible thanks to the founding president, Dr. Max Eckert, who had excellent contacts within the European Camping movement that went back to the pre-war years. Germany was in the IFCC, the forerunner of today’s F.I.C.C. that was founded in 1932, and was represented through its membership of the German Canoeing Federation which had always been

actively involved in the camping movement. Dr. Eckert was Chairman of the Canoeing Federation and President of the International Canoeing Federation and a member of the I.F.C.C. board. Early contacts made during a big event in 1937 survived the Second World War.
When F.I.C.C. started up again at the end of the war, one of its representatives contacted Dr. Eckert in Munich and, on behalf of all of the nations that were members of F.I.C.C., asked him to set up a German camping organisation.
The camping movement in Germany was success from the outset but it really took off from 1952 onwards. Thanks to a ministerial decree dated 9 May 1953, Dr. Eckert obtained full recognition of the camping movement in Bavaria, along with all of its demands and arrangements whereby official regulations were arrived at through consultation and not, as was originally planned, through legislation. Other similar decrees followed in other German states. From 1954 onwards, Dr. Eckert was again actively involved in F.I.C.C. and member of the board. In 1954, DCC started publishing a magazine for its members entitled “Camping“. Various state federations were established from 1951 onwards and even in 1950 one person was already designated to be responsible for young people’s activities. At the beginning of 1954 there were 16 state associations and a large number of newer local clubs. By 1957 DCC was sufficiently experienced in organising large-scale events that it was invited to organise the 18th International F.I.C.C. Rally in Stuttgart. The event was attended by 8,000 rally-goers from all over Europe according to a report in the club’s magazine “Camping“.
DCC’s presidents are inextricably bound up with the club’s history.
Dr. Max Eckert (1948-64). As President of the German Canoeing Federation, he promoted the camping movement through these “River wanderers“. In 1949 he initiated the publication of a camping guide. People usually acquired information about camping from fairs and exhibitions but from 1958 onwards, DCC had its own information stand at the exhibition in Essen. In 1953 Bavaria introduced the first camping decree relating to the construction and equipping of campsites based on proposals made by DCC. It was to serve as an example for the whole country. DCC’s first campsite was constructed in Kehl on the R. Rhine in 1958. Others soon followed and in those days they served as model campsites.
Friedrich Alexander von Horn (1964-70) was the second President of DCC and had much experience from being in active clubs. In 1954 he founded the Bremen CC, and shortly afterwards set up the Weser-Ems Federation. As President of DCC, he considered his main task was to extend the range of activities DCC had to offer so he set up the Family Camping Competition that still exists even today (“Golden Tent“ award, Tent Sport Pennant). In addition he, and DCC too, became heavily involved in the work of the DIN Standards Committee. He also set up the DCC Vacation Service that allowed campers to reserve their pitches on DCC campsites in advance. Last, but not least, he actively encouraged clubs to construct their own campsites.

Egon Skorczewski (1970-82) founded the “Berlin Section“ in 1953 which is now known as DCC’s Berlin Federation. Even in those days he was adamant about the need to build a number of municipal campsites for “his“ Berliners. After being elected President of DCC, he continued to pursue his main “cause célèbre“ i.e. creating even more DCC campsites. He started out within F.I.C.C. as Vice-President before being elected F.I.C.C. President, an office he held between 1981 and 1984.
Walter Krey (1982-94). In the 1980s, there was much debate on a multitude of political regulations that DCC and its President managed to sway in favour of campers’ interests. Thus the Germany-wide ban on outfits overtaking when going uphill was dropped as was the ban on outfits travelling on a Sunday that was introduced at very short notice. Disproportionately high standards imposed for building campsites in Schleswig-Holstein were likewise abandoned. Krey also managed to find time to represent the DCC at countless events both at home and abroad.
When the Berlin Wall came down in 1989 and Germany became reunited, the new states of Brandenburg, Thüringen, Saxony, Sachsen-Anhalt and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern joined relatively quickly. Walter Krey was an Honorary President of DCC.
Dr. Hans-Josef Giesen (1994-2006) became President of DCC in 1994. He had been a member of DCC since 1985 and was also actively involved in the Mittelrhein regional federation. From 1994 onwards, he represented the club both in Germany and internationally as an officer of F.I.C.C.
Dipl.Ing. Karl Zahlmann, (DCC President since 2006) comes from the Lower Saxony federation and had been a member of DCC for 31 years when he was elected President. Since his early days as a camper he has always been very actively involved, first at club level, then in his state federation and then as DCC President. His Vice-Presidents, Dipl.Ing. Andreas Jörn (Treasurer) and Dipl.-Ing. Jörg Radestock (Secretary), have done much to influence the path that DCC has taken. Their common aim - to continue to work within DCC for the benefit of the camping movement. Dr. Karl Zahlmann was made an Honorary Member of DCC in the spring of 2015.
Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Jörn took over from Karl Zahlmann who stood down as DCC President in the spring of 2014. He ran DCC’s affairs as acting President together with Jörg Radestock (Secretary) and Dieter Albert, member of the Committee and Chairman of DCC’s Hessen federation, until new elections for the Presidency were held in the spring of 2015. The new team has been in place since April 2015 viz. President: Dipl.Ing Andreas Jörn, Vice-President and Treasurer: Michael Woltmann, Vice-President and Secretary: Dieter Albert. Jörg Radestock was no longer available for re-election and he was made an Honorary Member of DCC in the spring of 2015.
With a membership of around 100,000, the club’s main focus is looking after members’ interests and maintaining close contacts with campers. This is achieved through a variety of activities including publication of the popular monthly magazine “CAMPING“, awarding various prizes and distinctions to the camping industry and campsites, and maintaining a presence at leisure and travel fairs and exhibitions at which the Club is represented either by head office, regional federations or local clubs. It also publishes all manner of information for campers on its website and is working on DCC-Online-Campingguides so that the DCC camping guide “Europa“ can be accessed on the web as well as in traditional book form.
DCC is Germany’s professional camping association and camping in Germany is intrinsically bound up with the existence and nationwide presence of DCC. The officers of the club are as committed as ever to maintain the momentum and keep up the good work in the years ahead.